Therapies

So far we had been working a lot on My son’s language and motor skills. And every day I end exhausted. I used to see the therapies as a long time to keep my older daughter distracted in something else so she didn’t get in the middle of the therapy. As my son always choose to walk away when she gets the attention and he goes happily to play with something away from everyone, he likes that but that must not happen because the therapist will loose “contact” with him.

Now I choose to see them as “an amazing opportunity to reconnect with my older daughter and know that amazing person she has become and growing in to”. I choose to think that way today.

I’m reading a book. One of my friends book. Not an old friend or a long time friend but someone that weirdly enough I feel comfortable with. Someone I admire a lot after reading her book and almost finish it. I will talk about  it when I finish reading it.

Back to the topic. Therapies are hard!. I have to stand his crying and not rush to carry him and hug him as I know he is frustrated and angry and feeling abandoned by me as I’m not in the same room. Is so hard to stop myself. No matter I know he is fine, he is not really in pain and he is not hungry ..but it is so hard!.

I used to end each day thinking we haven’t achieve anything. Now I choose to think we are, doesn’t matter is not tangible, we are. He is learning. AS the Chinese bamboo that takes 7 years to show any change  while it grows. AS the tulips that take long time to grow but when they do they are gorgeous and perfect. I choose to think that way today. We are achieving things. He is learning.

( That book is certainly changing my way of thinking to a positive world :). )

This entry was posted in Autism, Kids, Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Therapies

  1. Darcy says:

    Sabrina! I lost the link to your blog and am so glad I found it again!

    Something about autism is, more is known than is shown for a long time. What I mean is, your son understands more than he is able to show that he understands. When you aren’t expecting it, he’ll show you that he has learned. It might be very hard for him to make a connection from one day to the next, to realize that today he can still do things he did in therapy yesterday, but he will emerge in his own ways over time.

    Stay strong!

  2. Darcy says:

    Oh, and out of curiosity, how old are your children?

  3. Sabrina says:

    3 and a half and almost 2. 🙂 – ( 23 months)

  4. Sabrina says:

    My mom told me he is like the Chinese Bamboo. You have to take care of the ground where you put ir for 7 years with out seen anything growing as what it is doing is to grow roots , really strong ones that will hold the amazing growth it will have, and during the 7th year it grows as fast as incredible around 30 meters high. And during those 7 years it was working in its roots and power to hold that amazing height.

  5. Sabrina says:

    🙂 And helped me a lot!.

  6. Sabrina says:

    Oh and please don’t loose the link again.. I enjoy your comments and finally felt like at least someone was reading me 🙂 LOL. I love your comments. Thanks for writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

