Frustration

I can read it in my son’s eyes. It is so hard to follow the Therapist Instructions. Really!. Sometimes it is just TO hard. I know I have to and ai Need to but I can see his pleading Eyes and it hurts me. “more?” ” more?” that is the phrase I came to hate this week. He is learning to ask for more food , with the sign or his voice, whatever he wants to use, or the food name.

He had done the sign several times, said More a few others and ask specifically for “Banana” sometimes. But most of the times he decides he will stand the hunger and not say a word. Dunno if he is stubborn as I am and his sister is ( he probably is but dunno if he decides to do this because of that “quality”) or if he is just tired and non interested at all. But I can see in his eyes a pretty clear frustration.

I do not want to change my kid. I just want him to be able to survive this world we had created. To be able to navigate on it. But I don’t want him to get lost in my tries.

I don’t want to change what is already perfect.

This entry was posted in Autism, Therapy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frustration

  1. Darcy says:

    Poor little tired guy! I can tell you love him so much!

    I feel the same way, torn with my littlest girls who most often don’t grasp instructions a bit. I want to help them, but it hurts that they get frustrated and sad and confused — and that’s exactly why we need to help them now, to save them from future heartbreaks.

  2. Sabrina says:

    it is so hard. I just want to hug him and tell him I know you want more, take it. I don’t care. But I do care. I know He has to learn. It is just so hard.
    I was hard with my 1st daughter, always, I made her grow so fast. Why? I don’t know why was in such a hurry, just following what the books said she should be doing. But why?. Then this other angel comes. And he is sooooo behind what the books or his sister did. And I wasn’t worried. I knew he is different. And now I have to push him. :(.

Leave a Reply

