And So it Begins

And so it begins. The research, the obsessive reading ( from me) about different topics and tryouts, etc. So far I had not found any “medical” accepted evidence of changing the diet. But I had found people, near to me, that had tried it in their kids and had changes as a result. Like more eye contact, and communication skills.

What diet?. There is a Casein and Gluten free diet that, according to a lot of people but not experts, had changed the behavior on the autistic kids. I called my pediatrician to talk about this diet. He says, as all the therapist I spoke with today the whole morning, it is not proven but he also said: ” well you can always try it out for a few weeks and see what happens. This is one of those optional things that won’t damage the health of the kid, I had heard and seen things that I’ll probably told you NOT to try, this is not one of those”. – made me wonder what horrible things he had seen-.

So I read a lot. Thanks to my brain I’m a fast reader and with an excellent memory for numbers. So I got ideas, recipes and costs during the reading. Enough to get scared and almost ready. To play in the safe place I ordered a book from Amazon that is full of “kid’s friendly casein an gluten free meals”

My son favorite meals are : Bread, Milk, Cheese and Pasta. The 4 of them contains or gluten or casein or both. So I have to look for specific “great awesome flavor” meals to cover those 4. If any of you know some I’ll be happy to know!.

Researching…..

This entry was posted in Autism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment